Minutes

The City of Edinburgh Council (Special Meeting)

Edinburgh, Friday 16 September 2022

Present:-

LORD PROVOST

The Right Honourable Robert Aldridge

COUNCILLORS

Scott Arthur
Danny Aston
Alan C Beal
Marco Biagi
Chas Booth
Graeme Bruce
Steve Burgess
Jack Caldwell

Lezley Marion Cameron

Kate Campbell
Christopher Cowdy
James Dalgleish
Euan R Davidson
Cammy Day

Sanne Dijkstra-Downie

Denis C Dixon
Stuart Dobbin
Phil Doggart
Katrina Faccenda
Pauline Flannery
Catherine Fullerton
Neil Gardiner
Fiona Glasgow
Margaret A Graham

Joan Griffiths
Dan Heap
Euan Hyslop
Stephen B. Jone

Stephen P Jenkinson

Tim Jones

David Key Simita Kumar Kevin Lang Lesley Macinnes Martha Mattos Coelho Finlay McFarlane

Ross McKenzie Amy McNeese-Mechan

Adam McVey
Jane E Meagher
Claire Miller
Max Mitchell
Joanna Mowat
Alys Mumford
Marie-Clair Munro
Vicky Nicolson
Hal Osler
Tim Pogson
Frank Ross
Neil J Ross
Jason Rust

Edward J Thornley Val Walker Mandy H Watt Iain Whyte Norman J Work Louise Young

Alex Staniforth

1. Death of Her Majesty the Queen – Motion by the Lord Provost

The Council observed a minute's silence in memory of Her Majesty the Queen who had died on 8 September 2022.

The following motion by the Lord Provost was submitted in terms of Standing Order 17:

"On behalf of the citizens of Edinburgh, this Council offers its deep condolences to the Royal Family on news of the death of Her Majesty the Queen.

Throughout her extraordinary reign she showed great appreciation for her ancient and hereditary Kingdom of Scotland and its capital city Edinburgh.

During her countless visits to Edinburgh she reached out to charities, veterans, service personnel, hospitals and children and won a very special place in the hearts of the citizens of Edinburgh and Scotland.

Over her seven decade reign, she showed unwavering and inspirational, dedication to serving the nation and the Commonwealth, offering wise counsel in often turbulent times.

This Council and this City are in mourning. Council gives thanks for Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth's exceptional 70 years' service and extends its deepest sympathy to the Royal Family at this very difficult time."

- moved by the Lord Provost, seconded by Councillor Lezley Marion Cameron

The Lord Provost, Depute Convener Cameron, Councillor Day, Councillor Frank Ross, Councillor McVey, Councillor Lang, Councillor Mumford and Councillor Whyte paid tribute to the service and contributions made by Her Majesty the Queen.

Decision

To approve the motion by the Lord Provost.